Important Note

Tufts ended funding for its Open Courseware initiative in 2014. We are now planning to retire this site on June 30, 2018. Content will be available for Tufts contributors after that date. If you have any questions about this please write to

Tufts OpenCourseware
C3w-1: Lipid Staining: Oil red O and Hematoxylin. (Image courtesy of Alvar W. Gustafson, Ph.D.)
Course Description

This course presents the microscopic structure of cells, tissues, and organs, with emphasis on the correlation of structure and function. Vignettes of clinical and pathologic significance are also presented.


This course is dedicated to Frank Robert Susi, D.M.D., Ph.D., who is now emeritus professor and administrator at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine. As Professor of Oral Pathology and Professor of Anatomy, Senior Associate Dean, Director of the Basic Sciences, and a cherished colleague, Dr. Susi directed the section of Oral Histology of the course from 1968-2003.


The Course Director gratefully acknowledges the following health science students, who have worked with him to create digital images in conjunction with several Tufts programs, including Selectives on Microscopy/Digital Imaging and Summer Research Programs. Their contributions, some of which may appear here, are part of the permanent image archive at Tufts Health Science Schools. In chronological order by year of degree, these former students, now practicing professionals, are Kevin Mancini (DMD, 1999), Ha Nguyen (DMD, 1999), Stanislav Moline (DMD, 2002), Amy Bowering (MD, 2002), Eric Nelson (MD, 2002), Cecile Wyckaert (MD, 2003), Hasan Abed (MD, 2004), Andrew Wong (MD, 2004), Margarita McDonald (MD, 2005).

Please note that the course as presented here does not contain the full content of the course as taught at Tufts. The included content is based on material the Tufts faculty and instructors choose to include, as well as factors such as content preparation, software compatibility, and intellectual property and copyright restrictions.
Course Faculty
Alvar Gustafson
John L. Giunta
Jeffrey Marchant
Noshir R. Mehta
Maria Nurminskaya
Dmitry Nurminsky
Carlos Sonnenschein
Ana Soto
Course Length
131 Hours
1st year